♦ The 35th Apple Blossom Festival was held April 29-May 1.

♦ Members of the royal court were Queen Carol Jessup and princesses Bev Shadbolt and Corinne Bellas.

♦ Blue Bird royalty were Queen Christy Ann Hardy and princesses Susan Looney and Susan McGhee. The girls were officially crowned at the luncheon of the Kiwanis Club by President Bill Hull.

♦ Harold Bidwell was director general. Assisting him with special events were Warren Reid, Leo Lowe, Marshal Roberts, A.A. Morrison, Phil Crossman, Bob Yetter and Ray Hammil.

♦ Queen Carol posed for a photo with a giant apple pie served during a festival button promotion. A piece of the pie and a cup of coffee was provided for each purchase of a festival button in eight Wenatchee cafes. The 8-foot pie, donated and baked by Orval Larson, included 12 boxes of Wenatchee apples.

♦ Wenatchee Paint and Glass was awarded first place in the merchants' festival window decoration contest. Regan's Electric was second and Larson's Bakery, third. Eighteen stores participated. The contest, sponsored by the Wenatchee Chamber of Commerce, featured three blossom themes — welcome, originality and general appearance. Judges were Chet Endrizzi, C.M. Williams and Walter Graham.

♦ The H.B. Ellison Junior High School Band was host band to the largest children's parade in festival history with 4,500 students participating. Riding a float as the school's prince and princess were Robert Ajax and Dorothy Shadbolt.

♦ Walter Stelter was chairman of the queen's ball. Intermission entertainment included the Music Makers of Pullman, presenting selections from "South Pacific."

♦ Ephrata made good its promise to win the grand sweepstakes in the festival grand parade — the first time in the history of the festival that a community float took the top prize.

♦ The festival grand finale program included a classical ballet ensemble featuring a solo by Ila Ruud, a 16-year-old Waterville High School student. A second specialty number, "Duet in Rhythm," was performed by Barbara and George Schultz of Chelan.


♦ The 36th Apple Blossom Festival was held April 28-30.

♦ The royal court were Sharon Kaye Redlinger, queen; and Judith Emerson and Anna Battermann, princesses.

♦ Darryl Ormiston was director general. Committee members assisting with festival plans were Gordon Reed, Ken Blair, Mark Code, Orpha Schock, Gordon Bird, Kent Addis, Frank Stewart and Galen Gilyard.

♦ At least 15 local businesses participated in the Apple Blossom window decorating contest. Winners were MacDougall's (Donna LaFreniere), Penney's (Claude Durham) and Miller's Department Store (Gerry Firman and Daryl Koch).

♦ Blue Bird Queen Ardis Haring and princesses Mary Radewan and Cheryl Carveth were honored guests at a joint luncheon meeting of the Kiwanis Club and Soroptimists.

♦ The Apple Blossom Exposition was held in the old Penney building and the former Kane garage at Mission and Orondo streets. Among the exhibitors were Alcoa, the Tree Fruit Experiment Station, Wenatchee Junior College, Washington State Apple Commission, Washington State Fruit Commission. Arrangements were made with Consolidated TV Cable Corp. to provide broadcasts on closed circuit with local talent.

♦ A special exhibit at the North Central Washington Museum featured a photo display festival queens and an array of festival buttons. Esta Braunwart was curator.

♦ Lillian Grace Brown wrote and directed "A Thousand Springs," the festival pageant held at the Apple Bowl. The production had a cast of over 100 Wenatchee High School students. Richard Welton was the narrator.

♦ Davy Crockett was the recurring theme of the school parade for the 1,800 students who participated.

♦ Gov. Arthur B. Langlie was once again on hand for the "Coronation Under the Stars" of Queen Sharon Kaye. Warren Featherstone Reid was master of ceremonies.

♦ The queen's ball was held in the junior high gym. Pat O'Halloran was master of ceremonies. Intermission entertainment was provided by the Seattle Police Drill Team.

♦ Ephrata captured the grand parade sweepstakes award for the second year. Others winners were Aplets-Cotlets, Alcoa, Seafair, Junior Catholic Daughters, Peshastin, Eastmont, Quincy and Waterville.