♦ The 69th Apple Blossom Festival was held April 29-May 8.

♦ Heather Smith was queen. Princesses were Lisa Cooprider, Becky Kearny, Pam Dowell, Katie Newman, Mindi Lipp, Brooke Murray, Lisa Rank, Julie DeFina and Angela Froelich.

♦ Director general was Lisa DayDick Button was Applarian chancellor. 

♦ Women in pink jackets marched in this year's grand parade. Three women were invited into the ranks of the Applarian festival booster club, ending the club’s 29-year tradition as an all-male organization. 

♦ "Fiddler on the Roof" was the festival production presented by Music Theatre of Wenatchee. Dick Lapo returned for the starring role of Tevye. Other cast members included Carol Bowen, Keri Wehlander, Laura Bonwell, Patsy Boorman, Shannon McDannel, Amber Buick and Sue Lawson.

♦ "Aesop's Falables — A Rock Musical" was the festival production of Youth Theatre of Wenatchee. The cast included Oliver Moffat, Jim Brunner, Jennifer Williams and Matt Ogburn.

♦ Wenatchee Police Reserve received the Lehman Johnson Award for assistance with law enforcement during the festival.

♦ Harold Cozart, retired manager of Blue Chelan and former chairman of the Washington Apple Commission, was named Apple Industry Citizen of the Year.

♦ There were two new festival events this year: a celebrity waiters luncheon that served as a fundraiser for the Leukemia Society of America and a sports card and memorabilia show.

♦ Gov. Booth Gardner spoke at the all-service club luncheon.

♦ Rainbow Day Preschool of Wenatchee took the Spirit of Festival Award in the youth parade. Members followed the festival theme, "Apple Blossom Magic," by dressing up in black top hats and pink rabbit ear caps.

♦ Seattle television personalities Gary Justice (KIRO), and Steve Poole and Kathi Goertzen (KOMO) were special guests in the grand parade. Justice was grand marshal. A parade favorite for kids was KOMO-TV's "For Kids Sake" mascot T. Wheedle. Wheedle was also a mascot for the Seattle Sonics from 1975 to 1984. The Director General's Award winner was the float from Cashmere.


♦ The 70th Apple Blossom Festival was held April 28-May 7.

♦ Queen was Stephanie Smith. Members of her royal court were Renee Riggan, Heather Carr, Amy Chapman, Amy Nebel, Amy Swallow, Rosie Deal, Laura Worley, Heidi Farmer and  Fona Jeffery.

♦ Greg Peterson was the director general. Don Huggins was Applarian chancellor.

♦ Youth Theatre of Wenatchee presented "The Ransom of Red Chief" for its festival production. Cast members included Ken Bond, Matt Ogburn, Jim Ogburn, Tawnya Ward, Lauren Gault, Greg Johnson and Dawn Luebber.

♦ "The Sound of Music" was Music Theatre of Wenatchee's festival production. Leading the cast were Kelly Allen, John Westerman, Cori Bautista, Jennifer Williams, John Brett, Amber Smoke, Jim Brewer, Marcia Turner, Kevin Salter and Amber Hennigh.

♦ The ninth-annual Apple Blossom Hydroplane Races took place along Riverfront Park. Jim Lattimer of Wenatchee and Mitch Evans of Chelan were among the racers.

♦ Parsons Photography received the Lehman Johnson Award for its long-standing role in photographing festival royalty and events.

♦ Jerry Smeltzer received the Outstanding Apple Citizen Award.

♦ Actress and Seattle TV personality Pat Finley was the guest speaker at the all-service club luncheon.

♦ Eight-year-old Torin Koos of East Wenatchee was the youngest competitor in this year's Ridge to River event.

♦ Les Enfants Preschool won the Spirit of Festival Award. The entry, "Picture Us Growing Up," earned a place in the grand parade.

♦ Marionettes acting out Native American legends was the big draw at Youth Day festivities in Riverfront Park following the youth parade.

♦ History was a key component of the festival, both in the theme — "A Bite of History" — and in float designs during the state's Centennial year. Grand parade marshal was Kelly McComb, who was about to celebrate his 100th birthday. Once again, the Seafair float took home the parade's grand sweepstakes award. It was the 23rd time a creation by John Benham, a Wenatchee Valley native, had won the festival top award.