❀ The 91st Apple Blossom Festival was held April 22-May 2.

Margaret Robinson was queen. Lauren Ferguson and Laurie Bazan were princesses. The other Top 10 finalists were Holly Gale, Brianna Hibbard, Kelsey Mayer, Monica Sanchez, Katelin Toevs, Addie Holliday and Mindy Howard.

❀ Junior royalty were Aria Tornabene, queen, and Danielle Meadows and Evyn Kuske, princesses.

Tom Robbins was director general. Applarian chancellor was Don Gurnard.

Homer and Peggy Wolfe were honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Applarians for their longtime service to the festival.

Linda Haglund received the Lehman Johnson Award for her commitment and service to the festival.

❀ Music Theatre of Wenatchee presented “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” for the festival musical. Cast members included Ashley Armstrong, Paul Atwood, Marlon Browne, Matt Cadman, Maren Cagle, Brian Higgins, Trish Kimbell and Mark Wavra.

❀ Leavenworth artist Bob Jamison painted the festival art print, a view of Saddle Rock through a blooming apple orchard.

Tim Smith was named Apple Industry Citizen of the Year. Smith had been a WSU Chelan-Douglas Extension agent since 1982.

Bill Moos, athletic director at Washington State University, was the guest speaker at the all-service club luncheon.

❀ Wenatchee Wild mascot Walt the Wolf was grand marshal of the youth parade and also appeared in the grand parade. St. Paul’s Lutheran School took grand sweepstakes.

Jason Jablonski of Wenatchee finished the Apple Blossom Fun Run 10K in 33 minutes, five seconds to win the men’s division. Alison Johnson won the women’s 10K with a time of 41:15. Birkan Owart of Ellensburg won the men’s 5K in 16:07, and Wenatchee High School student Chelan Pauly took the women’s 5K in 20:16.

❀ The Wenatchee Wild hockey team, its president Bill Stewart and his wife and team business operations director Carla Stewart, and coach Paul Baxter were grand parade marshals. Grand sweepstakes went to the Sunnyside Community float.


❀ The 92nd Apple Blossom Festival was held April 28-May 8.

Elenore Bastian was queen; she was also junior royalty queen in 2004. Princesses were Elise Shae and Maycee McQuin. The other Top 10 finalists were Casie McGinness, Diana Rodriguez, Victoria Bravo, Elissa Smith, Samantha Sinko, Sarah Waterhouse and Tatianna Hankins.

❀ Junior royalty queen was Allison Flynn. Princesses were Brooke Wagner and Taylor Takasugi.

❀Director general was Ron Berschauer. Applarian chancellor was Walt Wittgow.

❀ Music Theater of Wenatchee was presented the Lehman Johnson Award, celebrating 50 years of festival musicals. MTW presented “The Drowsy Chaperone” as its production for 2011.

❀ This was a year of milestones for the Wenatchee Valley Sister City Association. It was the 80th anniversary of the Miss Veedol flight, the 30th anniversary of Wenatchee’s sister-city relationship with Misawa, Japan, and the 10th anniversary of that relationship with East Wenatchee. Misawa sent a 20-member delegation to the festival.

❀ Acrylic artist Ron McGaughey created the festival art print, depicting ripe apples on a tree.

❀ Retired Washington State University Extension horticulturist Gene Kupferman was the Apple Industry Citizen of the Year.

❀ Soroptimist International of Wenatchee planned a royalty tea and luncheon. The organization has been a part of the festival royalty program since the 1930s. Over the years, the group has donated jewels for the crowns, helped design the crowns, provided new velvet robes made by members and donated gloves to the royalty program. Members currently donate money to help buy jewelry worn by the royal court.

❀ Best elementary entry in the youth parade went to Lincoln Elementary’s Yellow Submarine Recycling Band.

❀ Wenatchee Valley leaders William Steward and Wilfred Woods were grand parade marshals.

❀ The 2011 Apple Blossom float was built in Wenatchee for the first time since 1998. It had been built in British Columbia for the last several years. Graybeal Signs was awarded the contract to build the mechanics and structural underpinnings of the float. Grand parade sweepstakes went to Deer Park.