Wenatchee EMS honored at awards presentation

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Providers from a variety of EMS agencies recently gathered in Pybus Public Market for the annual EMS awards presentation. Greater Wenatchee EMS Council and Dr. Lance Jobe, EMS Medical Director for Chelan/Douglas Counties presented the awards. Honorable Speaker Clyde Ballard also presented opening remarks that started the awards with EMS history in the region.

Five EMS providers received clinical excellence awards in recognition of their superior patient care skills, being effective advocates for patients and their families, working with peers to foster a positive work environment, and demonstrating professionalism in interacting with patients, families, and other medical professionals:

Nani Island, volunteer Emergency Medical Technician with Waterville Ambulance, received the Volunteer EMT of the Year Award.

Ron Evensen, Emergency Medical Technician with Ballard Ambulance for 44 years, was awarded the EMT of the Year Award.

Johnny Rebel, a Paramedic with Lifeline Ambulance, received the Paramedic of the Year Award.

Ray Eickmeyer, a Paramedic and EMS Director with Lake Chelan Community

Hospital-EMS, was honored with the Administrator of the Year Award.

Brian Slater, a Paramedic/MSO with Lifeline Ambulance, received the Darrel C. Kirking EMS Educator of the Year Award.

EMS Agency awards was presented to: Manson Fire Department (CCFD#5), Best BLS Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Skills of the Year Award; Lifeline Ambulance, Best ALS Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Skills of the Year Award

Special recognition: Dr. Lance Jobe received an award for twenty (20) years of continuous service as Medical Program Director (MPD) for Chelan/South Douglas Counties. The longest serving MPD in the history of Chelan/Douglas Counties.

The GWEMS Council also recognized EMS providers from several agencies for their contribution in saving the life of a patient in 2018 who experienced an out of hospital cardiac arrest. Those receiving a Lifesaving Award for a successful resuscitation in 2018 include:

Mike Battis, Shawn Ballard, Leilani DiPaula, Nick Segalini, Mike Bell, Stan Harrison, Dan Craig, Evan Akland, Mitchell McAuslan, Alex Jimenez, Garrett Stevens, Gage Island, Tyler Nicklos, Natalie Renick, Kyle Beattie, Kylar McPherson, Jason Satterfield, Erin Adams, and John Gallip, with Ballard Ambulance;

Mike Ing-Moody, Ben Bricker, and Zach Robinson with Cascade EMS;

Cy Sousley, Jason Satterfield, Justin Parker, Gavin Burnett, Peter Graf, Tyee Zacher, Jake Sousley, and Jim Newberry, with Cashmere Fire Department.

Cary Nue, Jordan Kunz, Andy Davidson, Bryson Waller, Chris Fuentes, Jon Brown, Chris Paul, Clint Webley, Matt Rise, Lyle Stewart, Kenny Sebeck, Dustin Armitage, Trystan Brender, Rick McBride, Dave Noble, Jerry Lopez, Josh Seal, Stephanie Preheim, Darin Radcliffe, Randy Shull, Gavin Burnett, Kayden Agidius, Eric Rice, Kelly Lindermann, Joe Monahan, Cy Sousley, Blake Larson, and Austin Flemens with Chelan County Fire District No. 1;

Dan Elderidge, Garrett Collier, and Tim Bowen with Chelan County Fire District No. 3;

Phil Moser, Trish Schmitten, Sam Tall, and Robert Turner with Chelan County Fire District #6;

Shawn Sherman, Joe Cox, Judy Johnson, James Park, Eric Sanderson, Steve Saugen, Tyee Zacher, Troy Keene, Brandon Asher, Sam Belsky, Adam Jones, Taylor Rains, Austin Yancey, and Mark Donnell with Chelan County Fire District No. 7;

Brandon Asher, Brian Asher, Mike Bell, Doug Eisenhard, Adam Jones, Chuck Westcott, Tyler Westcott, Blake Pipkin, Stacey Barker, Kevin Cox, Mark Ward, Lee Jones, and Jody Casey with Chelan County Fire District #8;

Dale Jordan, Jesses Keith, James Long, Jeffery Rock, Jacob Stibal, and Gary Mullendore with Douglas County Fire District No. 1;

Herb King, Carter Welch, Kyle Bowles, Colton Sackman, Carter Welch, Billy Turner, Josh Barns, JP Sokolowski, Jacob Toevs, Brent Kiggins, Rafael Martinez, Seth Ellis, Mitchell Williams, Nathaniel Betancourt, Josh Bollinger, Lauren Baltrusch, Shane Flatness, and Anthony Stone, with Douglas County Fire District No. 2;

Scott Carter and Isidro Sanchez with Douglas County Fire District #4;

Kurt Middleton, James Ashmore, Tom Smith, Brandon Fogelson, Mistaya Johnston, Dane Becker, Cendie Dietrich, and John Steiner with Lake Chelan Community Hospital EMS;

Brian Slater, Matt Canny, Raymond Salazar, Julia Anderson, Scott McBride, Johnny Rebel, Scout Kutschara, Taylor Morrow, Aaron Jacobs, and Tanner Long, from LifeLine Ambulance;

Nani Island and Ann Lewis, from Waterville Ambulance.

— Compiled by Cala Flamond, World staff