190507-newslocal-parade 12.JPG

The Sunnyside community float earned the Grand Sweepstakes Award in the Stemilt Growers Grand Parade on Saturday.



Grand Sweepstakes Award: Miss Sunnyside Community

Community Sweepstakes Award: Autumn Leaf Festival

Spirit of the Festival Award: Deer Park Community

Stemilt Growers Sponsor’s Choice Award: New West Minster (B.C.) Hyack Festival

Royalty Choice Award: Spokane Lilac Festival

Golden Apple Award: Manson Apple Blossom Festival


Best Royalty: Miss Rodeo Othello

Best Group: Ellensburg Rodeo Royal Court

Judge’s Award: Hispanos Unidos

Most Original Clean-Up Crew: Appleatchee Riders Association


First Place: American Behavioral Health Parkside

Second Place: Wenatchee Valley Farmers Market

Third Place: Bluebird Inc.

Most Original: Blazen Divas


Best of Show: Candy Monster Books

Second Place: Artstone Garden Ornament

Third Place: Blue Moon Garden Glassworks

Royalty Choice Award: Cupcake Candle Co.


Best of Show: Taco Bahia

Best Cleanliness/Overall Appearance: Dippin' Dots/Younglife

Best Customer Service: Inna’s Cuisine

Best Food Main Dish: Funnel Cakes

Best Value: Mac & Cheese Whaaaaaaat

Community Choice award: Philly Bros

190507-newslocal-parade 08.JPG

The Wenatchee Valley Appleaires perform as their entry rolls down the grand parade route.


AAAA Division First Place: Eisenhower High School

AAAA Division Second Place: Kennedy High School

AA Division First Place: West Valley High School (Spokane)

AA Division Second Place: Othello High School

A Division First Place: Wahluke High School

A Division Second Place: Deer Park High School

B Division First Place: Entiat High School

BB Division First Place: Manson High School

BB Division Second Place: Bridgeport High School

Drum Major Overall: West Valley High School (Spokane)

Band Sweepstakes Overall: Mariner High School


AAAA Division First Place: Eisenhower High School

AAAA Division Second Place: Kennedy High School

AA Division First Place: West Valley High School, Spokane

A Division First Place: Sultan High School

B Division First Place: Entiat High School

190505-newslocal-classy 07.JPG

The Les Schwab Classy Chassis Parade draws classic rides and big smiles each year.


Pre 1972 Muscle Car, Original: Nick Fox, 1970 Ford Mustang

Pre 1972 Muscle Car, Modified: Jim Kestle, 1966 Shelby Cobra

1972-Current Muscle Car, Original: Pat Macmaster, 2019 Chevy ZR1

1972-Current Muscle Car, Modified: Marie Casutt, 2013 Ford Mustang

Pre 1930 Domestic, Original: Pam and Terry Warren, 1924 Ford Model T

Domestic ‘30s & ‘40s, Original: Eddie Akers, 1941 Lincoln Contenintal

Domestic ‘30s & ‘40s, Modified: Mike Mooney, 1947 Ford Custom Coupe

Domestic ‘50s & ‘60s, Original: Paul Huebel, 1966 Cadillac DeVille Convertible

Domestic ‘50s & ’60s, Modified: Steve Frazier, 1965 Rambler American

Domestic ‘70s & ‘80s, Original: Nick Fox, 1970 Ford Mustang Boss

Domestic ‘70s & ‘80s, Modified: Michael Holmes, 1972 Dodge Dart

Post 1990 Domestic, Original: Sean and Brie Akers, 2018 Dodge Challenger

Post 1990 Domestic, Modified: Steve Sears, 2002 Ford T-Bird

Pre 1960 Truck, Original: Rick Wood, 1949 Ford F-1

Pre 1960 Truck, Modified: Carol Tutmark, 1954 Chevrolet 3100

Post 1960 Truck, Original: Parker Hamilton, 1967 Ford F-250

Post 1960 Truck, Modified: Michael Tutino, 1976 Ford

Commercial Vehicles, O&M: Daniel Lessard, 1951 GMC 1 Ton 3800

European/Asain, O&M: Larry Harlow, 1964 Volkswagen Beetle

Motorcycles, O&M: Mike and Margret Bryant, 1937 Harley Davidson Servi Car

Rat Rods, Modified: Tom Roche, 1929 Ford T-Bucket

Military Vehicles, O&M: Ken Williamson, 1951 M37 Dodge 3/4

Tractors, O&M: Billy Darwood, 1947 Oliver

All Other Vehicles, O&M: Michael Walcher, 1955 Citron Custom

Mayor's Choice Award: Sue Poe, 1955 Hudson Hollywood Hornet

Les Schwab Employees Award: Chuck Sollinger, 1929 Ford S.D.

Jack Smith Memorial People's Choice Award: Sue Poe, 1955 Hudson Hollywood Hornet

Best of Show: Philip Reeves, 1970 Dodge Challenger


First Place: Stemilt Studs – James Bailey, Mark Blakney, Ian Turner and David Milhiser

Second place: Goodfellow Bros. – Travis Hendrick, Ron Jordan, Dennis Loyola and Dan Reisenauer

Third place: Columbia Distributing – Rob Hartman, Tom Thompson, Robe Olson and Tom Smith

Fourth place: Washington Trust Bank #1 – Jason Underwood, Jay Lewis, Brad Selland and Bob Riggan

Fifth place: Breakfast Club –Dennis Johnson, Allen Jones, Gary Sirmon and Wayne Loranger

Highest Gross Overall: Bogey Bros. – Mark Lewis, Lance Tigner, John Gormley and Gary Fortner

Flagship Split the Pot: First place, Jason Underwood, Washington Trust Bank #1; second place, Ben Harris, Washington Trust Bank #2; third place, Darren Goehner, Midland Trucking

Putting Contest: First place, Dalton Thomas, Apple Blossom; second place, Shaun Stegeman, Stemilt Growers, and Tom Smith, Columbia Distributing

Ball Drop: First place, Siobhan Fryhover – Volunteer; second place, Jack Snyder – Skylar Rae; third place, Erik Holmberg – Midland Trucking; fourth place, Mark Gahringer – Martin Morris; fifth place, Shaun Stegeman – Stemilt Growers

Longest Drive: Men’s Winner, John Berry – Stemilt Growers; Women’s Winner, Brette Sangster – Horan Estate Winery