❀ The 87th Apple Blossom Festival was held April 27-May 7.

Jenny Hampton was queen. Princesses were Liz Speidel and Julie Rice. The other Top 10 finalists were Gretchen O’Connor, Lauren Dotter, Siobhan Loyd, Kelli Taylor, Ashley Anderson, Amanda Halle and Bekah Helsel.

❀ Junior royalty were Queen Maggie Chvilicek and princesses Maddy Heit and Rebekah Morris.

Julie Kuntz, queen of the 1974 festival, was director general. Applarian chancellor was Jim Turner.

❀ The Lehman Johnson Award for outstanding festival support went to Peter Nolen, Jeff Neher, Roger Bryant, Brian Dorsey and Dennis Johnson.

❀ The festival art print was created by 1996 Apple Blossom Princess Allison Lynn Lewis.

Jim Koempel, a Peshastin orchardist, was named Apple Industry Citizen of the Year.

❀ Music Theatre of Wenatchee presented “Disney’s Beauty and the Beast” as its festival production. Leading the cast were Shawna Hawkins as Belle and Tom Rastrelli as the Beast.

Jesse Gambill of East Wenatchee was the winner of the first “Apple Blossom Idol” talent competition. Rebekah Roberson of East Wenatchee and Drew Jaeger of Wenatchee were the winners of “Apple Blossom Kidz Idol.”

Madeleine Warner of Wenatchee High School took Best of Show in the Art 4 Kidz contest.

❀ Rotary International exchange students were the grand marshals in the youth parade. Winning entries in the youth parade included Washington Elementary School, grand sweepstakes; Montessori Children’s School, best daycare or preschool; and Head Start Services, judges’ choice.

❀ The 21st annual Classy Chassis Parade and Car Show topped 200 entries. Local winners included Jeff Maughan of Cashmere; George McKinzie, Ken Schall, John Tontz and Gary Jacobsen, all of East Wenatchee; and Jim Int-Hout, Don Card and John Shearer, all of Wenatchee.

Mike Utley, former Detroit Lions guard and a resident of Orondo, was the grand parade marshal. Chewelah took the grand sweepstakes float award. Other winning parade entries were Sunnyside, community sweepstakes; and Manson Apple Blossom Festival, spirit of the the festival.


❀ The 88th Apple Blossom Festival was held April 26-May 7.

❀ Queen was Laura DeCamp. Her princesses were Courtney Roberts and Mikel Stanaway. The other Top 10 finalists were Alicia Amorati, Stephanie Lacy, Stephanie Hill, Betty Ramirez, Izchel Chacón, Kaylee Anderson and Jennifer Lindsey.

Blair Ellis was junior royalty queen. Her princesses were Miranda Dyal and Emily Rader.

❀ Director general was Dave Gellatly. Applarian chancellor was Terry Ogle.

❀ Music Theatre of Wenatchee presented “Thoroughly Modern Millie” as its festival musical. Jennifer Lalani was in the leading role. Others in the cast included Chase Armstrong, Jaclyn Auvil, David Belmont, Colleen Bowen, Mariann Browne, Andy Card, Eli Chambers, Seth Chambers, Lynne Faulkner and Jeff Heminger.

❀ A painting by Kerry Siderius, showing a working orchard with full apple bins at the foreground, was the festival art print.

❀ The Lehman Johnson Award for outstanding volunteer service went to Jeff Neher.

Mike Hambelton, vice president of marketing at Columbia Marketing International in Wenatchee, was named Apple Industry Citizen of the Year.

Kenji Itoi, from the visiting Misawa Sister City delegation, presented East Wenatchee Mayor Steve Lacy a letter from Misawa Mayor Shigeyoshi Suzuki. Suzuki died three days after writing the letter. His letter expressed hope that the friendship and bonds between the people of Misawa and the Wenatchee Valley continue to be strengthened.

❀ Grand sweepstakes award in the youth parade went to WestSide Early Learning Center.

❀ Winners of the Apple Blossom Run were Marlene Farrell of Leavenworth, women’s 10k; Dean Brim of Wenatchee, men’s 10k; Skye Pauly of Wenatchee, women’s 5k; and Josh Santos of Wenatchee, men’s 5k.

❀ Local orchardists and industry marketers and shippers were this year’s grand parade marshals. Among those honored was Dalton Thomas, president of Oneonta Starr Ranch Growers. Wenatchee Valley Rams team members marched in the grand parade and then later in the day hosted the Palouse Thunder at Wildcat Stadium.

❀ The Daffodil Festival captured the grand sweepstakes award in the grand parade. Other winners were Olympia Capital Lakefair, community sweepstakes; and Marysville Strawberry Festival, golden apple award.